Ariel’s Blog Challenge – Week 5 (Blogging)

Well a blog post about blogging itself…this now puts me in a circular loop that I can never get out of and will disrupt the space time continuum forever aaaaaaaaaarrrrrggghhhhh!

Ok but more to the point; well I am quite behind with the rest of the group in terms of updating the blog but action I certainly have been taking.

The crux of this week was mainly:

  1. Get blogging, and do so regularly
  2. Get your band on at least 50 other blogs

Number 1, check. Number 2…well not so much of a check but a fantastic target to work on. I have now been blogging for the band and it has been great fun. With a daily hit rate of about 5 or 6 per day and none of my bandmates joining me in this blogging endeavour (or even reading them!), I have often found this to be a very frustrating and lonely experience.

But it is something I *absolutely* must do being the band manager and PR monkey of the band…so thank god for Ariel’s mastermind group and book, the fire in me to blog has come back alive again. I already maintain a personal blog and I also of course blog for my own brainchild Rock Bands in London.

Those who can (and are determined) blog and eventually become skilled at it.

The magic 50 blogs target

Well, as soon as I read the bit in Ariel’s book that bands who were blogged about in 40 or more blog posts increased their album sales by some crazy number, the blindingly obvious struck me! What is online hype? Well, it is being mentioned by loads of people in their blogs.

So now I have actively started asking some of our twitter followers (who are also bloggers) to blog about our Backstage Pass EP. I am getting 150 copies of the EP printed and duplicated and each one of these bloggers will be mailed a copy free 🙂

Are these massive bloggers? No, of course not..they just have a personal blog but at least they maintain it regularly and have enough of a passion to write about their life and music they love.

In other words I respect the fact that they can be arsed to blog and do so with gusto.

So, here’s to DonkeyBox appearing in loads of online press, small or big..I don’t care, I am just happy that someone loves us enough to write about us 🙂

About Atul Rana

Lead singer of rock band called DonkeyBox. Maths and Physics tutor to school and college students, running a tutoring agency business, salsa enthusiast, TV star, all round geek and hero. View all posts by Atul Rana

Leave a Reply

