Ariel’s Blog Challenge – Introduction

Normally the DonkeyBox band blog posts are written on behalf of the band by me, Atul Rana, singer/manager of the band in the “we” tense. But for the next week I will be writing these blog posts in my own tense. The reason…for the next 9 weeks I will be undertaking Ariel Hyatt’s blog challenege 2.0 woop woop wooooooo!

Eh, what, who? I hear you say

So as some of my closest friends know, I am well into band marketing, I talk about the band to you all the time and how I am trying this and trying that especially in the context of web 2.0 and social networking.

And about a month ago I had the immense fortune of being at Ariel Hyatt’s London talk. Ariel is one of the top contributors of the cutting edge stuff out there on web 2.0 and social media, she is based in New York but travels the world advising musicians how to help themselves. Her angle into social media is purely for the purpose of music and bands, wahey! Frankly I was blown away by what she had to say at her London seminar.

The Nine Week Blogging Challenge

The challenge is really simple, all I have to do is blog consistently week after week for 9 weeks solid. What am I going to blog about?

Well at her seminar I bought her book called “Music Success in Nine Weeks” and it has some really good to do, real practical “to do” stuff. But the thing is that it is just too easy to lose focus and get de-motivated when you don’t have any one else with you. I found this to be the case with Kavit Haria’s musicians mastermind last year, I paid a lot of money for it and there was no mastermind as such, just him giving a weekly podcast. And for all the good stuff he had to say I lost steam..

But the great thing with Ariel’s stuff is that she has truly made a mastermind and included all her participants in it, we can talk to each other and swap hints and tips.

But the most important thing to do is to take ACTION…so this is what this blog challenge is all about. It is going to be exposing to me to reveal my hopes and dreams and also to try and get on with the challenge of promoting the band and I invite you into this personal world of mine over the coming weeks.

I am SO excited about this!

About Atul Rana

Lead singer of rock band called DonkeyBox. Maths and Physics tutor to school and college students, running a tutoring agency business, salsa enthusiast, TV star, all round geek and hero. View all posts by Atul Rana

2 responses to “Ariel’s Blog Challenge – Introduction

Leave a Reply

